The latest medical news for people with allergies and food sensitivities.
Gluten-removed beer may not be safe for people with celiac disease, according to a recent study conducted by the Gluten Intolerance Group at The University of Chicagos Celiac Research Center. Researchers used blood samples from people with celiac disease to determine whether or not proteins in gluten-free beer and in gluten-removed beer would be recognized by antibodies present in their blood. No blood samples reacted to the gluten-free beer. However, a percentage of blood samples did react to the gluten-removed beer.