Meals

Gluten-Free Black Bean Burgers

These easy and delicious vegetarian burgers are gluten free and contain no added fillers or preservatives, unlike store-bought versions.

vegetarian gluten free burgers

Make extra and freeze them for quick weeknight dinners. Serve burgers on toasted gluten-free buns and top with your favorite trimmings (ketchup, mayo, mustard, lettuce, pickles, tomato) or enjoy them as plain patties with your favorite sides.

MAKES 4 VEGGIE BURGERS.

Ingredients:

1 (14-ounce) can black beans, drained and rinsed
˝ cup gluten-free old-fashioned oats*
˝ cup chopped mushrooms
⅓ cup onion, minced
1˝ teaspoons minced garlic
1˝ teaspoons lemon juice
2 teaspoons gluten-free Worcestershire sauce*
2 teaspoons gluten-free soy sauce*
2 teaspoons cumin
˝ teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
1 tablespoon tahini

Directions:

1. Place black beans in a large bowl and mash with a fork to a chunky consistency.

2. Grind oats into a coarse flour using a blender or food processor and add to bowl with beans. Add remaining ingredients and combine until a thick batter is formed. Place bean mixture in the refrigerator to chill and to allow flavors to meld for at least 20 to 30 minutes.

3. Put a large skillet sprayed with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Using your hands, divide bean mixture into four sections and form each section into a patty. Place patties in the skillet and cook for 6 to 7 minutes on each side until they’re crisp and lightly browned. As an alternative, bake burgers for 15 to 20 minutes on each side in a 350-degree oven.

Each burger contains 165 calories, 3g total fat, 0g saturated fat, 0g trans fat, 0 mg cholesterol, 732 mg sodium, 26g carbohydrate, 8g fiber, 9g protein.

*TIP: Gluten-free soy sauce is available from San-J Foods (san-j.com). Certified gluten-free oats are available from Bob’s Red Mill (bobsredmill.com), Cream Hill Estates (creamhillestates.com), Gifts of Nature (giftsofnature.net), Gluten Free Oats (glutenfreeoats.com), Glutenfreeda (glutenfreedafoods.com) and Only Oats (onlyoats.com). Note that Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce (leaperrins.com) sold in the United States is gluten free. Read labels carefully. When in doubt, contact the manufacturer.

Recipe reprinted with permission from Peas and Thank You (Harlequin Nonfiction) by Sarah Matheny.

Comments (13)

Hi Stacy - we've modified the post to claim that it is vegetarian, not vegan. Thank you.

Posted by: Moderator | July 13, 2017 10:54 PM    Report this comment

THIS IS NOT VEGAN! Worcestershire Sauce is FISH SAUCE. There may be vegan versions out there, but Lea&Perrin's is anchovy based. I am disappointed that you have either knowingly mislabeled this recipe or are not educated enough on the subject in conjunction with being to lazy to check your ingredients list to omit the ingredient or at least not specifically recommend the offending ingredient. Can't trust your site anymore and will actively warn against trusting your recipes.

Posted by: stacyjo | July 12, 2017 4:18 PM    Report this comment

Is it necessary to use nutritional yeast in the recipe? I am very sensitive to yeast.
Thank you.

Posted by: Lynn M | February 10, 2014 10:51 AM    Report this comment

Worcestershire Sauce is not vegan or vegetarian, the vegan worcestershire sauces all have wheat in them. I would use Bragg's liquid aminos or GF Tamari sauce instead.

Posted by: Cecelia C | May 27, 2013 5:33 AM    Report this comment

Let's not throw Bobs Red Mill under the bus. This is a reputable company. Aside from being aware of the cross contamination issue. There is something in oats that is similar to the "gluten response". It makes your body react the same way as if you've eaten gluten. So keep that in mind

Posted by: T M | May 26, 2013 2:10 PM    Report this comment

These sound really yummy, but if you use regular Worcestershire sauce then they aren't vegan as that traditionally has anchovies in it. There are plenty of vegan Worcestershire options out there, so maybe specify to use one of those :)

Posted by: Kylie B | September 29, 2011 5:37 PM    Report this comment

About Bob's Oats...take the time to read the new blog at Living Without - go to Search and type in "size" then read One Size (doesn't) Fit All. Sounds like it suits you to a "t".

Posted by: Elgie | September 29, 2011 12:17 PM    Report this comment

what does "nutritional" yeast mean? sorry, i'm new.

Posted by: newby | September 25, 2011 2:25 PM    Report this comment

I'd be very careful about using Bob's Red Mill GF oats. I ate them and was so happy to find what I thought was a GF oatmeal only to become very very sick after eating them. I notified the company but never heard anything back from them. I personally would never use them again.

Posted by: PJ101 | September 20, 2011 7:06 AM    Report this comment

Did I really type "meet?!"

Posted by: Anette W | September 19, 2011 5:21 PM    Report this comment

Try quinoa flakes...instead of oats.

Posted by: Elgie | September 16, 2011 7:36 PM    Report this comment

I have been advised by my celiac support group to not use gf oats, because of possible cotamination or the minute particles that is allowed for some of us that are extremely sensitive to oats. Please give a subsitution for the oats.

Posted by: karen b | September 16, 2011 6:19 PM    Report this comment

I really like this recipe.

I was craving something like this the day that the recipe was sent out. I made this with red rice, Lundberg's Wehani rice, which has a meet/beef taste instead of oatmeal. I guess I need to work on the adhesion element. With a 1:1 exchange, the burger didn't stay together very well, but the flavor was very good.

Posted by: Anette W | September 15, 2011 8:39 PM    Report this comment

New to Gluten Free & More?
Register for Free!

Already Registered?
Log In