FeaturesApr/May 2009 Issue

Gluten-Free Passover Baking Tips

Good Measure

For best results, use exact amounts called for in each recipe. Measure all ingredients carefully, particularly the potato starch.

Find Flavor

Look for kosher-for-Passover liqueurs in your supermarket in the same section as the Passover wines.

Sweet Substitute

Powdered sugar contains cornstarch, an ingredient forbidden for Passover. For corn-free powdered sugar, process equal parts tapioca starch and granulated sugar in a food processor until finely ground. Use in baking recipes.

Chill Out

For best results, margarine should be cold (from the freezer) when used in recipes.

Meal Time

To make gluten-free matzo meal, process pieces of oat matzo or Mock Matzo in a food processor fitted with a steel blade. For almond meal, process blanched almonds in a food processor or clean coffee grinder until finely ground.


Passover baking relies heavily on eggs – and lots of them. Beating egg whites provides leavening. To test if whites are beaten correctly, place a raw egg (in the shell) on the beaten whites. The egg should sink in only ¼ inch.

Stock Up

Keep an eye out for kosher-for-Passover desserts in supermarkets, Jewish groceries and natural food stores. Many are gluten free and now’s the time to stock up.

Comments (0)

Be the first to comment on this post using the section below.

New to Gluten Free & More?
Register for Free!

Already Registered?
Log In