As an infant, Aaron Weinbach would frequently cough, vomit and have difficulty feeding. Although doctors dismissed it, his mother Bonnie knew something wasn’t quite right but she had no idea what the cause of the problem was.
Away from the glitter of Hollywood, Busy Philipps’ life revolves around family—motherhood, healthy eating, regular exercise and weekly visits to the local farmers’ market. Phillips’ hobby during her downtime is making 3-D cake art but the Illinois-born actress and former Mattel Barbie doll model shies away from indulging in her creations. The reason? She has food sensitivities to wheat, gluten and soy. Here she talks to Living Without about living with a special diet.
The U.S. Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) requires that packaged foods that contain soy must list it on the label. Soy oil is exempt from U.S. labeling laws. Studies show that most people with soy allergy can safely eat products containing soy oil and soy lecithin. (Check with your healthcare provider to be certain this is true in your case.)
Soy can be found in baked goods, cereal, crackers, canned soups, vegetable broth, salad dressings, imitation bacon bits, energy bars, reduced-fat peanut butter, pasta, Worcestershire sauce, deli and luncheon meats and vegetarian meat alternatives. It’s also in some vitamin E supplements, prescription drugs and cosmetics. And don’t forget soy infant formula, soy milk, soy lattes, soy nut butter and soy veggie burgers. Americans love the soybean. Nearly one quarter of us report that we drink soy milk regularly.
A graduate of Yale and Cornell, Ming Tsai attended Le Cordon Bleu in Paris before opening Blue Ginger, his award-winning restaurant in the Boston area. Known for its innovative East-West cuisine, Blue Ginger is also allergy friendly, providing guests with detailed ingredient lists of every dish.
Your response to the reader looking for an allergy-friendly cream of mushroom soup ignored her request. I’ve been living with multiple food allergies (gluten, dairy, soy, grapes and others) for 23 years and this is how I replace commercial mushroom soup.
If you're craving pizza, bypass the gummy cheese and tomato sauce and reach for Perfectly Pesto Pizza.
Preparing your food-allergic child for a safe school year.
I have spent many years avoiding miso, the thick, fermented paste that’s a key ingredient in Japanese cuisine and the base of miso soup. Miso, often made from barley, has been a no-no for anyone who’s gluten free. But recently I discovered several varieties of gluten-free miso made from rice or beans. In fact, there’s even miso made from adzuki beans or chickpeas that’s soy free.
Tis the season to gather with family and friends. Planning a meal or a dinner party menu that offers bountiful good taste but doesn't contain gluten, dairy, egg or soy can be a challenge. These flavorful, healthy recipes make it easier to entertain. They're allergy friendly and make use of late-autumn garden favorites. Add a new dish to your family's holiday fare or offer to bring one with you to a gathering. Here's more reason to celebrate and less reason to worry during this busy time of year.