Gluten-Free Miso Soup with Wakame
Miso is a fermented food thatís usually been off limits to those avoiding gluten and/or soy, because many traditional miso pastes are made from soybeans and barley. Happily, gluten-free and soy-free miso pastes are now available, made from rice, buckwheat, millet and most recently, chickpeas. Look for miso paste in tubs in the refrigerated section of grocery stores. Check labels carefully. Miso soup is a common Japanese breakfast dish that can be enjoyed any time of day. It is made from chicken broth, vegetable broth or dashi (Japanese dried fish and seaweed broth). Common add-ins are seaweed, tofu and salmon.